Ideas for Early Learning-stylee pagan toys?

Discussions of all things pagan and neo-pagan.
mischief
Level 2
Level 2

Ideas for Early Learning-stylee pagan toys?

Post by mischief » Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:27 am

I'm in the UK briefly visiting friends and Family, and I've been looking around for appropriate toys for my 3 year-old god-daughter Megan. Her parents are Craft oldtimers, and I want to fulfil my role of godfather as best I can. I'm a bit new to this (as I'm sure my posts elsewhere will attest!) and I can't find anything around other than cuddly witches. I'm not particularly artistic (though I have as much fun splashing paint around as any child!), but I'm a passable carpenter, and I like the idea of making things rather than buying them.

I've asked her mum and dad for ideas, and they just look at me rather slyly and say it's a great idea, and I should do that - but without supplying any ideas.. From which I'm guessing it's as much about my education as Megan's!!

All I can think of is building blocks with pagan symbols on. Plus, she's getting to an age where she's starting to get interested in the alphabet, and I thought maybe one of those 'A is for apple, B is for Ball' posters - though, obviously, with rather more significant examples.

I guess too the most important question is, what do you think the basic principles are that such toys should teach?

All ideas and thoughts gratefully received!

Happy New Moon!
"We shape the Gods as much as they shape us" - Mary Renault

Crazy Healer Lady
Zodiac: Libra

Post by Crazy Healer Lady » Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:07 am

My little niece is now four (and a half, she will quickly remind you) and she was living with me until half a year ago. One thing that I tried to do with her first thing was take her outside to meet the spirits of the forest whom I was/is great friends with. Anything to do with the outdoors is usually a big hit with any kid, and is inherantly Pagan.