Help me explain something...

Discussions of all things pagan and neo-pagan.
Ever-Pagan
Level 1
Level 1

Help me explain something...

Post by Ever-Pagan » Sun May 01, 2005 7:48 pm

I'm a complete novice in Paganism, so I want to get the opinion of those of you who have more wisdom and experience that I do.

Many years ago in my fundie days I had an experience that I then chalked up as God working on my behalf. Now that I have moved away from those fundamental Christian beliefs towards Pagan spirituality, I'm trying to reconcile this occurrence with my current spiritual world view. Please bear with me; here's the story.

I was working in a textiles mill as the front desk receptionist. This position gave me a great view of the wide outdoors and the comings and goings of our southern summer storms. Well, one of those days there were dark gray clouds overhead and constant rainfall. My wife had dropped me off at work so I was without a vehicle. About 1/2 mile down the street were 2 restaurants where I could eat lunch, but I would have to walk to them or be hungry.

At about noon, an hour before my lunch break, I started praying - "OK, god. You know I have to eat. Stop that rain so I can walk down the street and get my lunch. Then you can let it rain as much as you want after that." At about 12:30, there was still a good hard rain falling. I said the prayer again. At about 12:55 or so, the rain stopped, the clouds parted and the sun came out. My relief arrived and I walked to the restaurant without so much as a drop of rain hitting my head.