Grrrrrrr...bread

So, what's for dinner?
Willow
Level 86
Level 86

Grrrrrrr...bread

Post by Willow » Tue Oct 07, 2008 7:56 am

Hey all,
despite my being a good cook, I can't seem to make bread, it either turns out really grainy, doesn't rise, cooks unevenly. Something always seems to go wrong, i have tried every fool proof bread recipe I can find. Anyone got a good one? I want to be able to use yeast and do the kneading...I want to make real bread!!!
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.
Dr. Seuss (1904 - 1991)

Kystar
Level 57
Level 57
Zodiac: Cancer

Re: Grrrrrrr...bread

Post by Kystar » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:43 am

Honestly, I'm in the same boat. I get bricks. Seriously. Though, I've discovered the humidity in your kitchen can affect the rising of the dough. I think my problem is that I have a cold, dry house.

Have you tried looking at http://www.foodnetwork.com and seeing if Alton Brown's Good Eats has any helpful hints? His show seems to have a lot of the science behind food, so he not only gives you the recipe, but the HOW it works and what conditions it needs. Don't know if they have any info on baking bread...but it's worth a try.
You say "Witch" like it's a bad thing!

Bandersnatch
Level 6
Level 6

Post by Bandersnatch » Tue Oct 07, 2008 10:22 am

While making bread is not a problem...I can't make a pie crust to save my life. Well, maybe it could save my life - its usually tough enough. :badgrin:

Do you know anyone who makes good bread? Get them to come give you a hand. My theory is - I know when the dough feels 'right' and until you get that instinct you will not get what you want. If someone who does make good bread can give you that experience it might help. Of course that didn't work for my pie crust problem, I finally gave up and buy the ready made crusts.

Crazy Healer Lady
Zodiac: Libra

Post by Crazy Healer Lady » Tue Oct 07, 2008 8:03 pm